« Spotlight on Health Care Reform with AICPA Insights Live | Main | The 3.8% Net Investment Income Tax [PODCAST] »

In the News: Award Winning Achievements

The AICPA held the fall meeting of its governing Council last week. The big news out of the meeting in L.A. was, of course, Bill Balhoff being named the AICPA’s 101st Chairman. In addition to Bill being named chairman, which is the highest AICPA volunteer position, a number of AICPA members were honored at the Council meeting for their contributions to the profession and the Institute.

Medal of Honor

Bob Graham, former U.S. Senator and former Florida Governor, was awarded the AICPA Medal of Honor, which recognizes an individual whose work has had a significant impact on the profession. The medal of honor is the highest AICPA award for a non-CPA.

“Senator Graham has served as an ambassador between the CPA profession and the American public, helping the AICPA Board chart the Institute’s course and the profession’s growth with the needs of all citizens in mind,” said Richard Caturano, CPA, CGMA, AICPA Chairman of the Board of Directors (2012-2013).

Sen. Graham has served on the AICPA Board of Directors from 2005-2013, shared his experience and worldview during board deliberations.

Read more about the Medal of Honor on the AICPA website and in this recent AccountingWEB article.

Public Service Award

Susan K. Whitelaw, CPA, partner in Whitelaw, Rice & Green CPAs LLC, Shreveport, La., received the AICPA’s Public Service Award for Individuals. The annual award honors members of the AICPA who have made significant contributions to their communities.

“We are fortunate that so many CPAs dedicate significant amounts of their time to their communities,” said Steven H. Wimmers, CPA, member of the AICPA’s awards committee.  “It is our belief that all of the compassionate and tireless volunteers should be recognized, but this year’s winner, Susan K. Whitelaw, clearly rises to the top.”

One of the distinguishing features of Whitelaw’s career as a public servant is an emphasis on activities that led to her community’s betterment.

Whitelaw serves as the annual support committee chair of the Arc of Caddo-Bossier’s Foundation Board, treasurer for the Hap House board and the Louisiana Disabled Persons Housing Corporation.  She is a past member of the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce’s Economic Development Task Force.

Read more about the Public Service Award on the AICPA website and in this recent Shreveport Times article.

Sustained Contribution Award
Eighteen CPAs were selected to receive the AICPA Sustained Contribution Award, which recognizes members who have contributed measurably to the AICPA and accounting profession through volunteer service.

The recipients have all served on an AICPA volunteer group for 20 years or more, and at one time have led a committee, task force or resource panel within the organization.

“The AICPA is dedicated to offering the best possible resources to its members and the profession, and volunteers are a crucial component in this,” said Kathy Eddy, CPA, CGMA, chair of the awards committee and a former AICPA chair. “When you consider the breadth of achievement of this year’s recipients, the Sustained Contribution Award is a tremendous badge of honor.”

Congratulations to all of the award winners.

, AICPA Staff

Photo Credit: Rene Macura


Comments are moderated. Please review our Comment Policy before posting.


Subscribe in a reader

Enter your Email:

CPA Letter Daily